Lela Javakhishvili, left, won two matches for Georgia as they beat Kazakhstan in the final of the FIDE World Women's Team Championship ©FIDE

An experienced Georgian team triumphed against a youthful Kazakhstan line-up to win the International Chess Federation World Women’s Team Championship.

Georgia’s winning line-up had all tasted success in this competition back in 2015 and the same five won in this year’s edition, held at Bydgoszcz in Poland.

Bella Khotenashvili, Meri Arabidze, Nino Batsiashvili, Lela Javakhishvili and Salome Melia were the winning line-up, defeating Kazakhstan in the final by a score of 2.5 to 1.5 and 3.5 to 0.5 in the two matches.

Javakhishvili was the star for the Georgians in the final, winning against Amina Kairbekova after claiming an early advantage, and later at the expense of Bibisara Assaubayeva, taking advantage of a loose start from her opponent.

The remaining members of the Kazakhstan team were Meruert Kamalidenova, Xeniya Balabayeva, Alua Nurmanova and Assel Serikbay.

Georgia and Kazakhstan had met earlier in the tournament in Pool A, with their match finishing level at 2-2.

Kazakhstan had finished top of the pool on nine points with Georgia in second place on seven.

In the semi-finals, Georgia progressed after beating the United States 3.5 to 0.5 on a blitz tie-break, after the matches had finished 2.5 to 1.5 and 1.5 to 2.5.

Pool B saw the United States and Poland both finishing on seven points, with the US earning the top position.

After their semi-final loss to Georgia, the US contested the bronze-medal match against France, who finished third in Pool A, and were beaten 4-0 on a blitz tie-break by Kazakhstan, after the matches had finished 3-1 and 1-3.

An attacking display from Sophie Milliet ensured the first match ended 2-2, and she became the star of the French team as she claimed a victory in game two which finished 3-1 and secured a first ever bronze-medal for France at this championship.

The French team consisted of Milliet, Deimante Daulyte-Cornette, Anastasia Savina, Mitra Hejazipour, Natacha Benmesbah and Silvia Alexieva.