Turkey celebrate winning the FIVB Volleyball Women's Nations League crown ©Getty Images

Turkey captured the International Volleyball Federation Volleyball Women’s Nations League title for the first time after overcoming China in the final.

The Turkish team produced a superb performance to beat China 25-22, 22-25, 25-19, 25-16 at the College Park Center in Arlington, Texas.

It was the biggest result in Turkey’s volleyball history as they clinched their maiden crown.

Turkey’s best showing at the event came in 2018 when they were runners-up to the United States and had also finished in the top four in 2019, 2021 and 2022.

Their persistence finally paid off as they joined Italy and three-time champions the US as the only winners of the tournament.

Turkey placed third in the preliminary phase with nine wins in 12 matches, finishing behind Poland and the US.

But they saved their best until the knockout stages, defeating Italy in straight sets before getting the better of the US in four.

Turkey dropped the second set against China but proved too strong in the end with Melissa Vargas leading them to victory.

Vargas, who was added to the squad this year, top scored in the final with 26 points, while captain Eda Erdem and Ebrar Karakurt also starred with 12 points each.

"I’m living a dream right now," said Erdem.

"I just can’t believe it, it doesn’t feel real.

"I’ve been representing my country since 2005 and there’s been so much sacrifice, so much sadness and so much joy.

"It’s been a long journey and I think that this year, with coach [Daniele] Santarelli, he made us believe we could be the champions.

"He helped us grow and remember who we are.

"I’m so proud of my team.

"We made history.

"We have waited for it for so long."

History was also made in the third-place playoff as Poland secured their first-ever medal in the Volleyball Women’s Nations League with a 25-15, 16-25, 25-19, 18-25, 17-15 win over the US.