The ECA Wildwater Canoeing Championships in Skopje concluded with sprint events today ©Getty Images

France finished on a high in the sprint finals on the fourth and final day at the European Canoe Association (ECA) Wildwater Canoeing Championships in Skopje, North Macedonia, taking four gold medals.

Earlier in the day Slovenia’s Anze Urankar and Marie Nemcova of the Czech Republic won the respective men's and women's K1 kayak titles.

Charles Ferrion won the men’s C1 final to take his second medal of the Championships after earning silver in the classic event.

He finished the course on the Treska River in 46.62sec, 0.43sec ahead of Blaz Cof of Slovenia as his compatriot Nicolas Sauteur took bronze.

"Next stop is the World Championships in Augsburg," said Ferrion.

Laura Fontaine added another French gold in the women's C1 final, finishing half a second ahead of Italy’s Cecilia Panato and 1.38sec ahead of compatriot Elsa Gaubert.

France took gold and silver in the men’s C2 event thanks to winners Pierre Troubady and Hugues Moret and the second pairing  of brothers Manoel and Tanguy Roussin, with bronze going to Matous Beier and Matej Vanek of the Czech Republic.

In the women’s C2 event there was another French triumph for Margot Beziat and Elsa Gaubert as they beat Italy’s Cecilia and Alice Panato by 1.31sec, as Austria’s Nadine Weratsching and Valentina Kroener took bronze.

Urankur, the 2017 world sprint champion, won his first gold medal at these Championships, having earned silver and bronze at previous editions.

He defeated the French athlete who had earlier won the K1 classic title, Maxence Barouh, by just 0.13sec, with bronze going to Slovenia’s world champion Nejc Znidarcic.

Nemcova shed tears of joy after her win.

"My run wasn’t so good…it’s amazing," she said.

"This is my first medal in K1, and even it had been bronze I would have been super happy."

Anna Steblaj of Slovenia finished just 0.01sec behind, with bronze going to Mathilde Valdenaire.

Nemcova added another gold in the women’s kayak team event in company with Kristina Novosadova and Klara Vancova ahead of France and Italy.

Urankur also topped the podium again as part of the winning Slovenian men's kayak team alongside Znidarcic and Simon Oven, with Italy second and France third.

Sauteur, Ferrion and Matteo Zanni won the men's team canoe event for France ahead of the Czech Republic and Germany.

In the opening day’s classic races, Belgium’s Laurane Sinnesael won the women’s kayak title from Sophia Schmidt of Germany and Lise Vinet of France.

Barouh’s victory in the men’s kayak classic race was earned ahead of Oven and fellow Frenchman Quentin Bonnetain.

Theo Vins of France won the men’s canoe classic gold, from Ferrion and Germany’s Normen Weber, while the women’s canoe classic title went to Cecilia Panato, with Fontaine taking silver and Alice Panato bronze.

Viens and Sauteur of France won the men’s canoe doubles classic, with compatriots the Roussin brothers second and Germany’s Tim Heilinger and Weber third.

The Panatos, from Italy, took the women’s canoe doubles classic ahead of France and the Czech Republic.

The Wildwater Sprint Canoeing Championships in Augsburg will take place from June 9 to 11 on the Munich 1972 Olympic canoe slalom course.