The newly elected Board of the JAI, set to be in charge until the next election in 2027 ©JJIF

Vinay Kumar Joshi has been elected as the President of the Ju-Jitsu Association of India (JAI) at its Annual General Body Meeting (AGBM), before the Asian Ju-Jitsu Championship in Bangkok this month.

The election took place at the conference hall of the Global Indian International School, where Amit Arora was also elected as secretary general and Raziuddin Shahed as treasurer of JAI. 

As per the rules and regulations of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports and Government of India, the election was held, with the ballot being closely observed by high rank officials in order to sustain a level of fairness.

The JAI AGBM was attended by 24 affiliated member associations.

Each affiliated member had two representatives with the right to vote.

The 7th edition of the Asian Ju-Jitsu Championship is set to begin next week ©JJAU
The 7th edition of the Asian Ju-Jitsu Championship is set to begin next week ©JJAU

Elected vice-presidents include Praveen Ranka, Amit Kumar Chourasiya, Tarsem Sharma, Abdul Lateef N and Vijendra Kharsodiya.

Newly-elected Executive Board members are Siraj Ahmed, Yaseen Shareef Sheikh, Abhijeet More and Rohini Kalam.

The Asian Ju-Jitsu championship is set to begin on February 23, with the newly-elected Board deciding to conduct trials to select members of the national team. 

The Board also unanimously agreed to allow the Madhya Pradesh Ju-Jitsu Association to manage the 2023 National Ju-Jitsu Championship, which will be held in Dewas City from March 27 to 31.