South Korea won six golds from eight in Dresden at the ISU World Junior Short Track Speed Skating Championships ©Getty Images

South Korea won six gold medals from a possible eight at the end of the International Skating Union (ISU) World Junior Short Track Speed Skating Championships, dominating over three days in Dresden.

Kim Gil-li and Lee Dong-hyun gave South Korea gold medals in the women's and men's 1,000 metres at the JOYNEXT Arena in the German city.

Kim crossed the line in 1min 32.294sec to beat Florence Brunelle of Canada and compatriot Oh Song-mi to the top of the podium.

Lee set a junior world record in the men's competition in a time of 1:23.549, beating his team-mate Shin Dong-min who was close behind in 1:23.701, just in front of Poland's Michal Niewinski.

The pair won their respective 1,500m races too, with Kim edging out Brunelle and Oh again on the podium, with a winning time of 2:36.639.

An all-South Korean podium was achieved in the men's 1500m, with Lee winning in 2:11.934, in front of Shin and Lee-dong-min.

Both team titles went to the Asian nation, with the quartet of Lee Dog-yu, Lee Dong-hyun, Lee Dong-min and Shin Dong-min winning comfortably in the men's 3000 metres relay final in a time of 3:57.263.

Japan's Kosei Hayashi, Teruhisa Miyoshi, Emu Natsume and Takumi Wada took silver in a photo finish with the United States and China, more than four seconds behind the winners.

Americans Marcus Howard, Kwon Seung-min, Justin Liu and Ryan Shane were the bronze medallists.

Short track titles went to South Korea in relays, 1000m and 1500m ©Getty Images
Short track titles went to South Korea in relays, 1000m and 1500m ©Getty Images

It was tighter in the women's final, with Kim Gil-li, Kim Ji-won, Oh Song-mi and Seo Su-ah finishing in 4:15.635 for gold, in front of China's Cai Shenyi, Song Jiarui, Wang Ye and Zhang Jianing in 4:16.342.

Hungarians Melinda Schonborn, Maja Somodi, Dora Szigeti and Eszter Toth were third, another four seconds behind.

South Korea were beaten only over the 500m distance, which were won by Canada and Poland.

Brunelle was victorious in the women's 500m final, crossing the line in 44.827sec.

Her compatriot Ann-Sophie Bachand was second in 45.273 and Song Jiarui of China took the bronze medal in 45.360.

Niewinski took gold in the men's 500m, in front of American Marcus Howard and Li Kun from China.