Two-time Paralympic gold medallist Graham Edmunds has been elected to the British Paralympic Association Board ©Getty Images

Graham Edmunds has been elected as a Board member of the British Paralympic Association (BPA), with Anne Wafula Strike and Helen Rowbotham re-elected to their positions as non-executive directors.

Edmunds replaces Forbes Dunlop, who stood down to devote more time to his role as Sport Scotland chief executive.

Former Para swimmer Edmunds won men's 4x100 metres freestyle 34 points relay gold medals with Britain at the Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 Paralympics.

He also served on the British Swimming Board for nine years as an athlete representative, and acted as the Board's anti-doping champion.

Former wheelchair racer Wafula Strike has served on the BPA Board since 2018, and also holds roles as a non-executive director of UK Athletics and Active Essex.

Wafula Strike played a supporting role in the campaigning for the ratification of the United Nations Convention on the Rights and Dignity of Persons with Disabilities, and founded the Olympia-Wafula Foundation.

Anne Wafula Strike has served on the BPA Board since 2018 ©Getty Images
Anne Wafula Strike has served on the BPA Board since 2018 ©Getty Images

Rowbotham was also elected to the Board in 2018 alongside her role as chief executive of the Access Sport charity, which seeks to combat children and young people's exclusion, hardship and poor health, particularly focusing on young disabled people.

She has previously worked at British Rowing in the roles of director of innovation and director of rowing community and strategy.

She has worked with the International Paralympic Committee, Commonwealth Games Federation and other key bodies during her 23-year career in sport.

Britain has finished second on the medals table at five of the last six Summer Paralympic Games, including Tokyo 2020 where it won 41 golds, 38 silvers and 45 bronzes.