The International Modern Pentathlon Union has announced the winners of its annual awards during its virtual Congress ©UIPM

The International Modern Pentathlon Union (UIPM) has announced the winners of its annual awards during its Congress, which has been held virtually.

The awards recognise athletes and event organisers who impressed during 2022.

The 2022 Modern Pentathlon World Championships, held in Alexandria, Egypt, were recognised as the UIPM’s best promoted event.

The best overall event award went to the 2022 Tetrathlon Youth World Championships for under-19 and under-17 athletes, which were held in Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy.

Turkey won the best new organiser award, for its hosting of the Pentathlon World Cup in Ankara, and the World Cup Final, a new fifth discipline test event.

The best contribution in sport award jointly went to the Korean, Lithuanian and Polish Modern Pentathlon Associations, for their support for Ukraine.

Other accolades handed out included best modern pentathlon relay team, which went to Italy, and best overall modern pentathlon team, which went to Egypt.

World Cup and World Championship events were awarded for the next two years during the Congress, with a 2023 World Cup and World Cup Final both awarded to Ankara in Turkey, winner of the best new organiser award.  

In 2024, a Modern Pentathlon World Cup has been awarded to Rome in Italy, with the World Cup Final again to Ankara.   

Three UIPM World Championships for 2023 have been handed out - the Tetrathlon Youth World Championships for under-17s were awarded to Alexandria in Egypt, with the edition for under-19s set to be hosted by Istanbul in Turkey.

Finally the 2023 Pentathlon Junior World Championships were awarded to Druskininkai in Lithuania.

The main decisions during the UIPM Congress saw a vote for obstacle racing to be added to the sport’s competition menu as a potential discipline, paving the way for it to replace equestrian as the sport’s fifth discipline following the Paris 2024 Olympics.    

Meanwhile, Klaus Schormann was re-elected as President for an eighth term, with a vote of no-confidence in the German official rejected by the Congress.