Leanne Smith won two gold medals on the final day in Indianapolis ©Getty Images

The United States dominated again in the Para Swimming World Series leg in Indianapolis, securing six out of eight gold medals on the final day at the Indiana University Natatorium.

Paralympic bronze medallist Leanne Smith of the US added two more first-place finishes, in the women's 50 metres backstroke and women's 150m medley.

In the latter, S3 athlete Smith picked up her third world record in three days with a time of 2min 49.80sec, shaving nearly five seconds off the previous best.

"It was definitely not expected," said Smith.

"Going into this morning, I had a great prelims swim and just for fun looked up what the world record was in that event and realised just how close I was to it.

"Coming back tonight we did some case work to it, I felt good.

"I just went out there and tried to have fun and end on a really high note.

"It's amazing to see your hard work pay off."

Rudy Garcia-Tolson won gold to cap off his final Para Swimming World Series appearance ©Getty Images
Rudy Garcia-Tolson won gold to cap off his final Para Swimming World Series appearance ©Getty Images

American double Tokyo 2020 champion Hannah Aspden won her first gold in Indiana with a blistering display in the women's 100m backstroke while her team-mates and fellow Paralympic gold medallists Elizabeth Marks and Gia Pergolini took second and third, respectively.

Rudy Garcia-Tolson ended his World Series career in style with victory in the men's 200m medley at the same event where his career began.

"My expectations were to swim fast and prepare myself for world championships hopefully," said 33-yar-old Garcia-Tolson of the US.

Fellow US Paralympic champions Anastasia Pagonis and Robert Griswold also prevailed in the women's 200m medley and men's 100m backstroke, respectively.

The only non-American winners were Chile's Alberto Abarza and Patricio Lopez Fernandez of the Dominican Republic.

Abarza was victorious in the men's 50m backstroke while Lopez Fernandez triumphed in the men's 150m.