Fiji's Banuve Tabakaucoro won the men's 100m for the third straight Pacific Games ©Pacific Games News Service/Roland Setu

Fiji's Banuve Tabakaucoro and Papua New Guinea's Toea Wisil set Pacific Games records in the 100 metres on their way to securing gold at Samoa 2019 here today.

Tabakaucoro maintained his status as the dominant sprinter at the Games after winning the men's 100m title in 2011 and 2015.

His reign appeared to be under threat when Samoa's Jeremy Dodson qualified fastest for the final in 10.58sec.

The final would prove a different story as Tabakaucoro surged into the lead and ended with clear daylight to his rivals.

He crossed the line in a Games record 10.31, taking 0.02 off the previous mark he set to win the Pacific Mini Games title in 2013.

Dodson settled for the silver medal in 10.48 with fellow Samoan Kelvin Tuiala Masoe taking the bronze in 10.56.

The women's competition saw Wisil emerge as the athlete to beat as she achieved a Pacific Games record of 11.51 in the heats.

The previous record of 11.55 was set by Fiji's Makelesi Bulikiobo at the last edition of the Games to be held in Samoa in 2007.

Wisil narrowly missed out on matching her heat run in the final but celebrated gold in a time of 11.56.

Fiji's 17-year-old sprinter Heleina Valetta Young won silver in 11.82 with Papua New Guinea's Leonie Beu completing the podium in 11.94.

New Caledonia earned victories in the Para-sprint races with Sylvian Boa and Joanne Lhuillery crowned winners of the men's and women's ambulant 100m respectively.

Papua New Guinea celebrated a clean sweep in the men's 10,000m, matching their achievement in the 3,000m steeplechase yesterday.

Simbai Kaspar emerged as the winner of the race by clocking 33min 34.90sec, ending 1.96 clear of second placed Siune Kagl.

The podium was completed by James Kuada Gundu, who crossed the line in 33:39.01.

Papua New Guinea celebrated a clean sweep in the men's 10,000m ©Pacific Games News Service/Roland Setu
Papua New Guinea celebrated a clean sweep in the men's 10,000m ©Pacific Games News Service/Roland Setu

The Cook Islands' Alex Beddoes celebrated a narrow victory in the men's 800m by finishing in a winning time of 1:53.18.

Beddoes fought off competition from Papua New Guinea's Ephraim Lerkin, who ended 0.60 seconds shy of the champion's time.

Fiji's Petero Peni Veitaqomaki clinched the bronze medal in 1:54.72.

One of the more dominant displays of the day came in the women's 800m, where 18-year-old Australian Keely Small triumphed in a time of 2:10.53.

She enjoyed a near four second margin of victory over Papua New Guinea's Donna Koniel, who won silver in 2:14.17.

Koniel was joined on the podium by team-mate Jenny Albert, whose time of 2:16.30 gave her bronze.

Small narrowly missed out on becoming the first Australian to win a Pacific Games gold medal in athletics, with the country invited to contest the sport for the first time at Samoa 2019.

The honour fell to Alexandra Hulley as the pre-event favourite lived up to expectations in the women's hammer throw by achieving a winning distance of 64.37m.

New Caledonia's Ellise Takosi and Papua New Guinea's Jacklyn Travertz trailed behind the winner with throws of 51.73m and 47.99m, which saw the duo complete the podium.

The men's high jump crown was earned by Tonga's Mosese Foliaki with a successful leap of 2.06m.

Fiji's Malakai Kaiwalu and Papua New Guinea's Peniel John Richard would share the silver medal as both men could not be separated having cleared 1.99m.

No bronze was awarded as a consequence.

Fiji's Shawntell Lockington claimed the women's title with the 18-year-old having cleared a height of 1.68m.

Papua New Guinea's Rellie Kaputin was second on 1.65m while Tahiti's Candice Richer rounded off the podium on 1.59m.

New Caledonia celebrated double gold in the men's and women's ambulant javelin competitions with Henri Wahicko and Rose Vandegou emerging as the winners.

There was also success for New Caledonia in the men's decathlon, where Florian Geffrouais claimed a clear victory on 7,419 points after the 10 events.

Papua New Guinea's Karo Iga and Timona Poareu managed totals of 6,643 and 6,521 to complete the podium.