By Gary Anderson

EONOS will be the title sponsor of the Women's Baseball World Cup 2014 ©JX Nippon Oil & Energy CorpJapanese oil brand ENEOS has been named as the title sponsor of this year's Women's Baseball World Cup.

ENEOS is part of JX Nippon Oil & Energy Corporation, the largest oil company in Japan, and as part of the deal this year's tournament will be known as the ENEOS Presents Women's Baseball World Cup 2014.

The sponsorship agreement includes cash remuneration and will also place the ENEOS brand on the logo of the event.

In addition, the Japanese oil giant will have a presence around the two site venues in Miyazaki, Japan as well as across the event's digital/web platforms and in all of the World Baseball Softball Confederation's (WBSC) forthcoming communications and announcements related to the event.

ENEOS was previously a sponsor of the third edition of the Women's Baseball World Cup, which was also held in Japan in 2008.

"The WBSC is very proud to have a partner such as JX Nippon Oil and Energy and the ENEOS brand to support women's excellence in sport and to deliver the best-ever Women's Baseball World Cup in Miyazaki," said the WBSC President, Riccardo Fraccari.

"The support and sponsorship of such an iconic Japanese brand has great potential to further raise the profile and appeal of women's sport in the eyes of other major brands and broadcasters.

"And, we are very humbled to try to play whatever role we can to help increase opportunities for women through WBSC's sport disciplines."

Commenting on the sponsorship of the ENEOS Presents Women's Baseball World Cup 2014, the Tokyo-based JX Group said in a statement: "Through baseball, we will continue to do social development and support the growth of the next generations."

Japan are the defending Women's Baseball World Cup champions ©WBSCJapan are the defending Women's Baseball World Cup champions ©WBSC

This year will be the sixth edition of the Women's Baseball World Cup and the second time it will be staged in Japan following on from Matsuyama six years ago.

The United States won the first two events in Edmonton, Canada in 2004 and Taipei City, Chinese Taipei in 2006.

Since then, Japan has dominated, winning the last three editions including last time out in 2012 when the tournament returned to Edmonton.

Japan and the US will be joined by Australia, Canada, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, The Netherlands, and Venezuela for the tournament which runs from September 1 to 7.

Miyazaki's 30,000-capacity Sun Marine Stadium and Ivy Stadium, a spring training venue for Nippon Professional Baseball team Fukuoka Softbank Hawks, will serve as the two competition venues.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related Stories
April 2014: 
Japanese legend named global ambassador for 2014 Women's Baseball World Cup
February 2014: 
WBSC reveals eight-nation line-up for 2014 Women's Baseball World Cup
October 2013: Japan awarded 2014 Women's Baseball World Cup