Switzerland continued their fine start to the Ice Hockey World Championships with a fourth consecutive victory, beating Slovakia in Riga ©Getty Images

Switzerland made it four wins from four with a 4-2 victory over Slovakia at the Ice Hockey World Championship in Riga.

Slovakia were level going into the final period before the Swiss team netted twice to ensure maximum points at the Arena Riga in the Latvian capital.

Switzerland have made a superb start to the campaign and took just five minutes to open the scoring against Slovakia, with Jonas Siegenthaler netting before a crowd of 4,840. 

Nino Niederreiter doubled Switzerland’s lead at the beginning of the second period before conceding their first goal in 202 minutes as Slovakia rallied.

Andrej Kudrna and Pavol Regenda scored to put Slovakia back on level terms, putting Switzerland under pressure.

Switzerland responded courtesy of a goal from Christian Marti before Gaetan Haas got the fourth late on to seal victory.

The win puts Switzerland at the top of Group B with a maximum 12 points from their opening four games.

At the other end of the standings, bottom country Slovenia held a 2-0 lead only to lose 6-2 to an Dominik Kubalik-inspired Czech team in Riga.

Miha Verlic and Jan Urbas both struck in the first period to put Slovenia in charge before the Czech Republic pulled off a stunning comeback led by Kubalik.

Kubalik got the Czech Republic’s first before netting two more in a dominant third period that also featured goals from Roman Cervenka, Michal Kempny and Jakub Flek.

In Group A, Sweden thrashed Hungary 7-1 with a clinical performance in front of a crowd of 6,566 at the Nokia Arena in Tampere in Finland.

Three of Sweden’s goals came in the first period with Oscar Lindberg, Jacob de la Rose and Dennis Everberg scoring.

Roland Kiss also got on the scoresheet for Hungary but this was as good as it got for his side as Sweden pulled away.

De la Rose got his second, while Andre Petersson, Jonatan Berggren and Lucas Raymond also scored in the rout.

The Nokia Arena also hosted a 10-goal thriller as Germany defeated Denmark 6-4.

The Danish team scored the opening goal and drew level twice but Germany emerged victorious from the gripping encounter.

John Peterka, Alexander Ehl, Moritz Muller, Jonas Muller, Marcel Noebels and Nico Sturm scored for Germany.

Christian Wejse bagged a brace for Denmark, while Matias Lassen and Mathias Bau also struck in the defeat.

Competition is due to continue tomorrow with Hungary playing co-hosts Finland in Group A in Tampere, followed by Germany taking on neighbours Austria.

In Group B in Riga, the other co-hosts Latvia are set to meeting Slovenia and Kazakhstan playing Slovakia.