Tsend-Ochir Tsogtbaatar was named Athlete of the Year at the awards ©MNOC

The Mongolian National Olympic Committee (MNOC) has held its annual "Burte Chono" awards, recognising its best athletes, Olympians, journalists, National Federations and sports administrators.

It was held in the newly-opened Chinggis Khan Museum, welcoming more than 200 people from National Federations either as candidates or as distinguished guests.

International Olympic Committee member and MNOC President Battushig Batbold officially opened the ceremony, praising the best sportspeople in the landlocked country, situated between China and Russia.

Batbold was elected the new MNOC President in 2022 after the organisation went a year without a permanent head, following the 20-day imprisonment of former President Naidan Tüvshinbayar, who resigned from his position after attacking fellow judoka Erdenebileg Enkhbat.

Enkhiin-Od Sharavjamts was named Young Athlete of the Year ©MNOC
Enkhiin-Od Sharavjamts was named Young Athlete of the Year ©MNOC

Enkhbat later died and Tüvshinbayar was sentenced to jail for murder.

The Mongolian Sports Press Union selected the winners of the awards, along with a working group from the MNOC.

Judoka Tsend-Ochir Tsogtbaatar, who was crowned world champion in the men's under-73 kilogram tournament in Tashkent, was named Top Athlete of the Year.

Enkhiin-Od Sharavjamts, the first Mongolian player at the Dayton Flyers in Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) men's basketball league, was announced the Top Young Athlete of the Year.