Canada are the defending World Mixed Curling Championship champions ©Getty Images

A total of 35 teams will be heading to Aberdeen in Scotland for the World Mixed Curling Championship, due to start tomorrow.

The first event of the 2022–2023 World Curling season is scheduled to be held until October 22 at the Curl Aberdeen, a state of the art six-sheet curling facility.

Canada won the last championship held in the same venue in 2019 after defeating Germany in the final.

The have been put together with Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, India, Korea, New Zealand, Portugal and Slovenia in Group A.

Group B will see the likes of Croatia, Spain, Estonia, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, United States and Wales.

Australia will be with Austria, England, Hungary, Luxemburg, Mexico, Scotland, Switzerland and Slovakia in Group C.

Czech Republic, Ireland, Japan, Latvia, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden, Chinese Taipei and Ukraine make up Group D.

For Canada, skip Jean-Michel Menard, who is a world men's silver medallist, will be crucial.

Norway has few big names in their squad with world champion and Olympic silver medallist Christoffer Svae, who will throw second stones, while world mixed champion in 2015, Pia Trulsen, will play lead stones.

Spain and Denmark have Olympic and world medallists in their teams, making it an interesting contest.

Meanwhile, India is set to make its debut at a World Curling event.