The Netherlands won the women's team sprint title in Hamar ©Getty Images

The Netherlands and Norway earned team sprint titles as the World Speed Skating Championships continued in Hamar.

Hosts Norway celebrated victory in the five team men’s event at the Hamar Olympic Hall, with Bjørn Magnussen, Henrik Fagerli Rukke and Håvard Holmefjord producing a strong display.

The trio completed the event in a winning time of 1min 20.01sec to take the title, ending 0.79 clear of Poland’s silver medallists Marek Kania, Damian Zurek and Piotr Michalski.

The Netherlands were just 0.01 seconds slower than Poland, with newly crowned individual sprint champion Thomas Krol winning team bronze with Merijn Scheperkamp and Kai Verbij.

There was Dutch success in the women’s event with Jutta Leerdam adding to her sprint title yesterday.

The Olympic silver medallist was joined by Dione Voskamp and Femke Kok, with the trio winning team sprint gold in 1:27.42.

Poland’s Andzelika Wójcik, Kaja Ziomek and Karolina Bosiek were second in 1:29.09, with Norway’s Julie Nistad Samsonsen, Martine Ripsrud and Marte Bjerkreim Furnee trailing in 1:34.92.

The first of two days of individual all-around competitions began today, with Dutch skater Patrick Roest leading the men’s standings following 500 metres and 5,000m races.

The 500m race saw Dmitry Morozov of Kazakhstan triumph in a personal best of 36.12 seconds, following by Japan’s Riku Tsuchiya and Norway’s Peder Kongshaug, who tied for second in 36.40.

Roest placed fourth in 36.44.

The Dutch star followed the performance with a second place finish in the 5,000m event, which was won by Beijing 2022 Olympic champion Nils van der Poel.

The Swedish skater triumphed in 6:12.45, with Roest 3.54 down in second.

Italy’s Davide Ghiotto placed third in 6:19.84.

Roest leads the overall standings after the first day with a score of 74.039, followed by van der Poel on 74.575.

Japan’s Miho Takagi leads the women’s event, aided by winning the 500m sprint race in a time of 38.31.

Her compatriot Ayano Sato and Kazakhstan’s Nadezhda Morozova were her closest challengers in 38.49 and 38.59.

Takagi was fifth in the women’s 3,000m race, 4.73 seconds down on the track record time of 3:58.00 set by Irene Schouten.

Schouten, who won three gold medals at Beijing 2022, was nearly three seconds faster than her nearest rival.

Compatriot Antoinette de Jong was second at 2.90 seconds down, followed by Ragne Wiklund of Norway and the Czech Republic’s Martina Sáblíková who finished in times of 4:01.16 and 4:01.50.

The results give Takagi the lead after two events, with the 27-year-old having earned a score of 78.765.

Schouten lies second after the first day on 78.906, narrowly clear of third placed de Jong on 78.960.