Ona Carbonell will be among those to compete in Paris ©Getty Images

The International Swimming Federation's Artistic Swimming World Series begins for 2019 in French capital Paris tomorrow.

Action in the 2024 Summer Olympic host city will take place at the Aquatic Centre Maurice Thorez and will be the first of eight legs on the circuit.

Following the eight events a Super Final will be held in Hungarian capital Budapest between June 14 and 16.

Twenty-five countries have registered to compete in Paris across the solo, duet and team categories.

This does not include the strong Russian squad, but Ukraine, Japan and Spain will all hope to challenge.

Initial free duet qualifying will take place today, before the competition starts for real tomorrow with finals in technical solo, technical duet, technical mixed duet and technical team.

Free solo and free mixed duet medals will be awarded on Saturday (March 2) before the free combination, free duet and free team finals on Sunday (March 3).

Retired French athlete Virginie Dedieu, a triple world champion and Olympic bronze medallist, said she was looking forward to her home event.

"Results for this competition are difficult to predict," she said. 

"It will vary depending on the event.

Retired French world champion Virginie Dedieu has previewed her home event ©Getty Images
Retired French world champion Virginie Dedieu has previewed her home event ©Getty Images

"The Ukrainians, the Japanese and the Spanish are strong contenders. 

"From what I have seen here so far, Japan has one of the best teams. 

"The podiums will really be mixed and varied because even the strong countries aren't necessarily taking part in all of the events.

"For example, Spain, with Ona Carbonell, is registered for the solo free. 

"She is definitely one of the favourites in the solo. 

"In the teams, I think the Ukrainian girls are the highest hopes. 

I haven't seen them swim but they are definitely here as a team. 

"Most of the time, Ukraine takes part in all of the events available and make the most of the opportunities."

After Paris, the circuit will move to Alexandroupolis in Greece between April 4 and 7.

Kazan, Tokyo, Beijing, Greensboro, Quebec City and Barcelona are also on the schedule.