Lee Seung-Hoon triumphed in the men's 5,000m event ©Getty Images

South Korea's Lee Seung-Hoon continued his fine recent form by winning men’s 5,000 metres gold in an Asian Winter Games record here today.

Lee triumphed in the men’s mass start competition at the World Single Distance Speed Skating Championships in Pyeongchang earlier this month, where he delighted a home crowd.

The Vancouver 2010 Olympic gold medallist continued his superb record at the multi-sport event, clocking an Asian Winter Games record time of 6min 24.32sec in the Obihiro Forest Speed Skating Oval.

His victory added to the three gold medals he won at the 2011 edition of the event held in Almaty.

Japan's Ryosuke Tsuchiya and Seitaro Ichinohe got closest to the South Korean speed skating legend, the pair completing the podium in times of 6:29.67 and 6:31.84 respectively.

The host nation ended the day with two speed skating gold medals, both of which came in women’s events.

Nao Kodaira triumphed in the 1,000m competition, clocking 1:15.19 to take the gold medal in front of her Japanese team-mate Miho Takagi.

Takagi was 0.12 seconds off the pace to end as the runner-up as the bronze medal went to China's Zhang Hong in 1:15.75.

Japan's Nao Kodaira won the women's 1,000m at the Asian Winter Games ©Getty Images
Japan's Nao Kodaira won the women's 1,000m at the Asian Winter Games ©Getty Images

Takagi stepped up to the top of the podium in the 3,000m, winning in a Games record 4:05.75.

South Korea’s Kim Bo-reum came second in 4:07.80.

Japan also secure a bronze medal as Ayano Sato clocked 4:10.07.

The fourth and final speed skating gold of the day was claimed by China's Gao Tinyu, who produeced an Asian Winter Games record time in the men's 500m.

He won 34.69 in the shortest speed skating distance contested at the Games.

Japan’s Tsubasa Hasegawa won the silver medal in 34.79, while a time of 34.95 saw the bronze medal go to South Korea's Cha Min-kyu.