Sven Kramer made it eight titles in Berlin ©Getty Images

Defending champion Sven Kramer won a record eighth International Skating Union (ISU) World Allround Speed Skating Championships crown in Berlin as Czech star Martina Sábliková also retained her title.

Twenty-nine-year-old Kramer, the triple Olympic champion and overnight leader, won the 10,000 metres in the German capital today after coming third in the opening 1,500m.

That saw The Netherlands ace finish on a total of 148.995 points ahead of Norway's Sverre Lunde Pedersen, who enjoyed the opposite record today with 1,500m victory and third spot over the longer distance.

He tallied 149.483 points with another Dutch skater, Jan Blokhuijsen, finishing third after being the closest rival to Kramer overnight.

Blokhuijsen managed 149.672 with the lower the score the better.

He was sixth over 1,500m before coming second behind his compatriot over 10,000m.

Kramer's 10,000m win came in 13:07.19 which was nearly four seconds quicker than Blokhuijsen who finished in 13:10.92.

Pedersen was further back after stopping the watches at 13:11.83, with only the top eight skaters going into the final discipline taking part.

In the 1,500m, the Norwegian's win came in 1:46.24 with Polish skater Konrad Niedzwiedzki, who came eighth overall, finishing second in 1:46.84.

Martina Sábliková has now won the Championships on four occasions
Martina Sábliková has now won the Championships on four occasions ©Getty Images

Kramer was clocked at 1:47.05 as he once again proved himself as the best all-around skater in the world.

The Dutchman, the winner in Calgary last year and the victor on six other occasions, had already won more titles at the event than anyone else in history.

In the women's competition, Sábliková was also the overnight leader and she did enough for a fourth title after adding to her triumphs in 2009 and 2010 last year.

The 28-year-old three-times Olympic gold medallist was second over 1,500m before winning the closing 5,000m.

That gave her 159.042 points to beat Dutch skaters Ireen Wüst and Antoinette de Jong, who finished on 159.732 and 161.380 respectively, into second and third place.

Wüst was the victor over 1,500m and was second in the 5,000m, with de Jong finishing third in the longer distance.

Third in the 1,500m went to another Dutch skater, Linda de Vries.

In the 5,000m, the Czech was timed at 6:52.57 for victory, with Wüst someway behind on 7:01.41.

De Jong was timed at 7:04.04, with Wüst clocking 1:54.83 to win over 1,500m.

Sábliková registered a time of 1:55.44, ahead of de Vries who managed 1:57.04.